Author Topic: Permission.  (Read 1990 times)

Credo

Permission.
« on: January 15, 2006, 08:35:PM »

What is up concerning the need to obtain permission to say the BR, 1962 or before? I read somewhere to do so without permission is to cese to "pray with the Church." As such, it could only be considered personal prayer. Do I need to get permission from the bishop to pray the BR?

I promise not to put anything here which might help us question our mind-forged manacles, inspire us, or help us in any way at all.

N.B.: I will not be posting on this site again until the Christmas octave. Have a good Advent.

Paul

Permission.
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2006, 09:03:PM »
I've heard this, too, but it's not something I worry about. As a layman, I'm not required to say the Office, so I do not fail to meet an obligation if my recitation doesn't count. Whether it's private devotion or public liturgy, I let God worry about that. Either way, I think, He appreciates our prayers.

piusx1914

Permission.
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2006, 02:07:PM »

Credo,

I'm with Paul, don't worry about it.

I have pasted below a reply I got from an FSSP concerning using the pre 1962 breviary. 

> Is it permissible for a member of the laity to

> follow the 1955 Pius X

> rubrics while saying the office since we are not

> constrained by canon

> law to the 1960 rubrical revisions?

I don't see why not; When clergy pray the Office, it

is considered to be on the same level as any public

part of the Church's Liturgy, but when laymen do so,

it is considered a "private devotion", so you are free

do do it in whatever way appeals to you.

I think that the value of praying in union with the

Liturgy outweighs any differences (or mistakes) you

might make. I figure that the only prayer that can

hurt you is the prayer you don't say!

piusx1914

Permission.
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2006, 02:16:PM »

Credo,